NRL News

Shaun Wane names England squad to tackle Mixed Nations All-Stars

England Head Coach Shaun Wane has named a provisional 24-player squad for subsequent Friday’s (25 June) mid-season fixture towards the Mixed Nations All Stars at Warrington.

The squad, which shall be diminished to 19 earlier than the squad goes into camp subsequent week, contains George Williams, who returns to England as a free agent following his launch on compassionate grounds from Canberra Raiders. Williams’s closing look for the Raiders was towards Melbourne Storm on 22 Might and his inclusion within the closing squad is topic to health.

Additionally included are Castleford’s Paul McShane, the 2020 Betfred Tremendous League Man of Metal who is ready for his England debut on the age of 31, plus a number of uncapped gamers.

Ash Handley is joined by his Leeds Rhinos team-mate Mikolaj Oledzki, who has earned a promotion from the England Knights squad and will make historical past as the primary Poland-born participant to play worldwide Rugby League.

One other Knights graduate, the Warrington Wolves centre Toby King, can be referred to as up with Morgan Knowles, St Helens’ Barrow-born free ahead who represented Wales on the 2017 World Cup however switched allegiances to England final yr.

There are additionally first call-ups for Huddersfield’s explosive centre Jake Wardle and for Tom Davies, who is likely one of the two Catalans Dragons gamers within the squad alongside Sam Tomkins.

Wakefield’s Joe Westerman is re-called to the England arrange after an absence of seven years, becoming a member of his Trinity team-mate Reece Lyne within the squad.

No NRL-based gamers have been thought of for choice.

England Head Coach Shaun Wane says:
“We’ve an excellent mix of youth, versatility and expertise, and I’ve each confidence in whoever makes the ultimate minimize. I watch each Betfred Tremendous League sport, each week, a minimum of as soon as, and all of those gamers have earned the fitting to play for England.”

24-player England squad

John Bateman (Wigan Warriors), Daryl Clark, Mike Cooper, Ben Currie (all Warrington Wolves), Tom Davies (Catalans Dragons), Liam Farrell (Wigan Warriors), Luke Gale, Ash Handley (each Leeds Rhinos), Toby King (Warrington Wolves), Morgan Knowles (St Helens), Reece Lyne (Wakefield Trinity), Jonny Lomax (St Helens), Paul McShane (Castleford Tigers), Tommy Makinson (St Helens), Jermaine McGillvary (Huddersfield Giants), Mikolaj Oledzki (Leeds Rhinos), Joe Philbin, Stefan Ratchford (each Warrington Wolves), Dan Sarginson (Salford Crimson Devils), Sam Tomkins (Catalans Dragons), Alex Walmsley (St Helens), Jake Wardle (Huddersfield Giants), Joe Westerman (Wakefield Trinity), George Williams (Free agent).


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button