NRL News

Reggae Warriors identify squad to face Scotland

Jamaica director of rugby/head coach Romeo Monteith and lead coach Jermaine Coleman have named their 19-man squad for Sunday’s Take a look at match with Scotland, on the Millennium Stadium in Featherstone (kick off 3:00pm)

The Reggae Warriors want to bounce again from final Friday’s defeat by the hands of England Knights, with worldwide rating factors up for grabs in opposition to the Bravehearts as each nations look to measure their progress 12 months out from the Rugby League World Cup.

Tremendous League stars Ashton Golding and Michael Lawrence are as soon as extra included, while Sheffield Eagle Izaac Farrell and Bradford Bulls’ David Foggin-Johnston are additionally named and will presumably debut, though Jordan Turner isn’t accessible.

Monteith commented: “We’re excited to face Scotland for the primary time, they’re ninth-ranked on the planet, a powerful crew with a bunch of Tremendous League gamers and will give us one other stern check. We anticipate an thrilling model of open rugby from each groups which must be a deal with for the followers. We picked up just a few knocks in our sport in opposition to England Knights, however these two weeks with consecutive matches in opposition to sturdy nations is precisely what we have to give us an thought of what it will likely be like within the World Cup.”

Monteith added: “These video games are additionally vital in introducing the crew to extra followers within the UK with the invitation for them to undertake us as their second favorite facet for the event. It’s not misplaced on us both that we’re inspiring younger Jamaicans and West Indians within the UK to have a go on the sport, and this may solely assist to construct our profile and potentialities for the longer term.”


Greg Johnson (Batley Bulldogs), David Foggin-Johnston (Bradford), Jon Magrin, Keenen Tomlinson (Dewsbury Rams), Danny Bravo, Ross Peltier, (Doncaster), James Woodburn-Corridor (Halifax Panthers) Ashton Golding, Michael Lawrence (Huddersfield Giants), Aaron Jones-Bishop, Alex Brown, Jordan Andrade, Jy-mel Coleman (Hunslet), Mo Agoro, (Keighley Cougars), Jacob Ogden (London Broncos) Izaac Farrell, Joel Farrell (Sheffield Eagles), Joe Brown (Workington City), Ben Jones-Bishop (York Metropolis Knights)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button