NRL News

Rugby League Euro D Championship set for kick-off with added Phrase Cup incentive

The Euro D Championship kicks off on the Huseyin Akar Tesisler Stadium in Bodrum, Turkey tomorrow (Thursday) with added incentive for the 4 nations collaborating. Czech Republic face Malta within the opening sport of a double-header (kick off 1pm CET), adopted by Netherlands towards their Turkish hosts (3.15pm), the 2 winners assembly within the last on Sunday on the identical venue and the losers enjoying off for world rating factors.

The next champions can be promoted to Euro B for 2022, and the Championship can even act as a pre-qualifier for the 2025 Rugby League World Cup, with the victors additionally continuing to the official qualification event.

The Turkey Rugby League Affiliation has reported important curiosity on the again of the event, and is seeking to unfold the game within the nation in consequence. Head coach Julien Treu commented: “We will’t wait to compete. It’s the first time Turkey will host such a contest so it’s a fantastic alternative for our native gamers to point out the progress they’ve made in such a brief time. The group is getting ready effectively, the gamers are excited and wanting to defend their colors on residence soil.”

They face Netherlands of their opening sport, contemporary from retaining the Griffin Cup towards Germany. Captain of the Orange, Ben Dommershuijsen, who be retiring after the matches, famous: “It offers the boys a platform to showcase what Dutch Rugby League is about. I’m actually honoured to captain our nationwide squad and particularly these boys. We all know we’re going into this event as underdogs, however we like that, we’re all the time up for a problem. We’re going to show to everybody that we belong on the high.”

Malta head coach Roderick Attard stated: “We’re wanting ahead to showcasing a robust contingent of home gamers which have been starved of worldwide competitors over the Covid-19 pandemic. It’s nice to be again,” while Czech RL president Lukas Hergott added: “Six months in the past we weren’t anticipating this occasion to be happening, so we’re very excited to be enjoying once more! The core of our group is made up of those that performed earlier within the yr in our U21 facet towards Serbia, alongside some confirmed internationals and we all know everybody will profit from this expertise.”

The matches can be livestreamed on –

Czech Republic 19-man squad

Antonín Berk, Daniel Veselý, Filip-Daniel Kittl, (Krupka Dragons), David Bělohlávek, Jan Říha, Erik Schulz (Slávia Hradec Králové), Jakub Hudrlík, Jan Hovard, Josef Chuchlík, Martin Kubát, Matěj Greenwood, Taras Turkevyč, Tomáš Horák (Mad Squirrels Vrchlabí), Jiří Pecina, Ondřej Preininger, Tomáš Řičica (Chrudim Rabbitohs), Jan Pecháček (Vlci Trutnov), Roman Richtr (Barbarians Letohrad), Tomáš Kasík (Black Angels Hodonín)

Malta 19-man squad

Alfie Jewitt (Ackworth Jaguars), Justin Barlogio (DC Slayers), Dean Zammit (Hunslet), Christian Briffa, Mark Camilleri, Shaun Chircop, Jeremy Dela, Aidan Demicoli, Shan Francois Hussain (IKHAL), Cameron Brown, Russell Bugeja, Robin Cutajar, Justin Farrugia, James Grech, Jean Scholey, Jean Pierre Zarb, Luke Musu (ISWED), Zarrin Galea (Redcliffe Dolphins), Karl Cassar (Shaw Cross Sharks)

Netherlands 19-man squad

Adam Braksator, Bonne Wilce, Frank Longhurst, Lucas Gout, Maurits Thomson, Paul Dirkzwager, Romeo Goldman, Thomas Farrell (Den Haag Knights), Arie-Tjerk Razoux Schultz, Daniel de Ruiter, (Haderwijk Dolphins), Auke Idzerda, Ben Dommershuijsen, Edson Neves, Isaac Ngirubio, Shadan Lavia (Rottderdam Pitbulls), Joran Schoenmaker, Laury Renac, Mauricio Gomez Pazos, Paul Kuijpers (Zwolle Wolves)

Turkey 19-man squad

Alperen Kademli, Can Günersu, Erdem Çağdaş, Kemal Ege Gürkan (Ankara Frigler), Mert Tayyar Berktav (Bilgi Badgers), Miraç Ertürk, Ahmet Tarik Tekin, Batuhan Balçin, Doruk Çeliktutan, Oğuzhan Demir, Ozan Işik, Rama Kabak, Taner Burak, Yusuf Can Tunç (Kadiköy Bulls), Selçuk Cömert (Kandira Ragbi), Errol Carter (London Skolars), Behzad Bayram (Rg Heidelberg), Oğuzhan Tirendez, Ömer Faruk Pir (Trakya Ragbi)

Match officers panel

Tony Palacios (Spain), Eamonn Whelan (Eire), Aris Dardamanis (Greece), Jaroslav Bzoch (Czech Republic). Technical Delegate: David Butler (ERL)

EURO D Fixtures

Spherical 1: Thursday 14th October

1pm – Malta v Czech Republic
3.15pm – Netherlands v Turkey

Finals Day: Sunday seventeenth October

1pm – Loser Spherical 1 v Loser Spherical 2

3.15pm – Winner Spherical 1 v Winner Spherical 2

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button